Introduction To Fu Jen Catholic University Music Department

The Fu Jen Catholic University College of Arts and Music Department were founded in 1983 under the auspices of University President Lo-Kuang for the purpose of instilling through music the values of truth, goodness, beauty, and holiness so vital to character development. So successful was the Baccalaureate Program in Performance that the Graduate Music Program offering the Master’s Degree in Performance was established in 1995. The Graduate Program was subsequently expanded to include the Master’s Degree in Musicology (1999) and Composition (2001). Recognizing the need to train and nurture outstanding music professionals by providing opportunities for advanced study, the department inaugurated the Master’s Degree Extension Program in 2002, and in 2003 obtained approval from the Ministry of Education to institute the Doctoral Program. The Fu Jen Catholic University Music Department has an experienced faculty that has earned a reputation for excellence in teaching, performance, and research. The curriculum administered by these highly-skilled professionals is comprehensive and features both a respect for tradition and an awareness of modern challenges. In addition to the required courses—theory, history, analysis, solo and ensemble work—the department offers many electives such as jazz studies, music aesthetics, music therapy, music appreciation, pedagogy, orchestration, electronic music, foreign languages, theatre arts, piano accompanying, and score reading. Additionally, Fu Jen Catholic University has a Teacher Training Program that leads to public school teaching certification. Educational experiences are further enhanced by the several faculty and student concerts, orchestral, choral, and concerto performances, workshops, public lectures, master classes, and international symposia scheduled each year. The building that houses the College of Arts and Music Department was completed in 1987 and is located beside the beautiful Department of Literature Library. The Music Department’s second floor corridor features a poster exhibition that documents the history of the department’s performances. The superb facilities include the Hwai-Jen Auditorium, used for concerts, conferences, and orchestral rehearsals, and the Hwai-De Recital Hall, appropriate for choir rehearsals, lectures, and other smaller gatherings. There are rehearsal rooms for choirs, percussionists, and ensembles, and all solo-piano, duo-piano, and chamber music practice rooms are air-conditioned and furnished with grand pianos. The department houses an historic Steinway piano, manufactured in the late nineteenth century, and students have ready access to a large collection of DVD, CD, VCD, and cassette recordings, scores, reference works, and periodicals within the department and in the adjoining library. The electronic music laboratory was opened in 1988 and was the first of its kind among Taiwan universities. Its facilities are augmented each year and both the electronic music curriculum and state-of-the-art equipment are integrated, thereby affording students the opportunity to acquire knowledge and practical experience in recording techniques, audio-visual production, musique concrète, electronic music composition, MIDI, and computer music. The Fu Jen Catholic University campus is both spacious and aesthetically gratifying, and is situated most conveniently beside the Fu Jen University MRT Station. With well-equipped dormitories, cafeterias, a heated swimming pool, gymnasium, and many suitable venues for extracurricular activities that cater to cultural, recreational, and social needs, our students find life at Fu Jen to be both comfortable and stimulating. Our graduates have acquired a reputation for success in their professional lives, and our objective is to continue to impart to our students the highest-quality musical, academic, and ethical education, equipping them to achieve their ambitions, both now and in the future.

Previous Department Chairmen

Rev. Joseph Ly 1983.8~1984.9
Rev. Alban Hrebic 1984.9~1985.7
Lan-Ku Chen 1985.8~1988.7
Lau Chi-Ming 1988.8~1994.7
Ming-Jian Fang 1994.8~1998.7
Lian-Chang Kuo 1998.8~2001.7
Ming-Chung Sheu 2001.8~2004.7
Sheau-Ping Hu 2004.8~2010.7
Mei-Ling Shyu 2010.8~2016.7
Shu-Wen Sun 2016.8~迄今